Faculty Development Committee - Annual Report, 2015-2016

<u>committee Members 2015-2016 Academic Year</u>			
Adam Maltese	C&I	Bloomington	2013-2016
Sharon Daley	LCLE	Bloomington	2014-2017
Gina Yoder	C&I	IUPUI	2014-2017
Sylvia Martinez	ELPS	Bloomington	2014-2017
(Chair)			
Janet Decker	ELPS	Bloomington	2015-2018
Sean Duncan	СЕР	Bloomington	2015-2018
Lynn Gilman	СЕР	Bloomington	2015-2018
Leslie Rowland		Bloomington	Grad Student
Letha Taylor		Bloomington	Staff
Gary Crow		Bloomington	Ex-Officio
Sylvia Martinez (Chair) Janet Decker Sean Duncan Lynn Gilman Leslie Rowland Letha Taylor	ELPS ELPS CEP	Bloomington Bloomington Bloomington Bloomington Bloomington	2014-2017 2015-2018 2015-2018 2015-2018 Grad Studen Staff

Committee Members 2015-2016 Academic Year

The Faculty Development Committee met 7 times during the 2015-2016 academic year

September 18 September 25 – New Faculty Orientation Lunch October 30 December 11 January 29 February 23 March 25 April 21-22 – Miller Lecture

Below are brief summaries of the projects on which the Faculty Development Committee worked. Some of these projects, such as selecting recipients of annual teaching awards or planning invited lectures, are regular parts of the Committee's charge. Other projects, notably the work on the issue of grade inflation at the undergraduate level continued and an undergraduate grading policy, which does not currently exist was presented to Policy Council.

New Faculty Orientation Luncheon

On September 25, 2015, the Faculty Development Committee hosted a half-day orientation and lunch with new faculty members. The orientation included presentations from various units in the School of Education (ETS, Research and Development, Instructional Consulting, and Faculty Affairs). The orientation ended with lunch. The lunch meeting provided an opportunity to introduce new faculty members to committee members and to chat about the work of the Faculty Development Committee. New faculty members were encouraged to provide feedback on initiatives they would like the committee to pursue.

Guest Speaker Support Fund

The following requests for funds from the FDC speaker fund were approved during the 2015-2016 academic year:

- \$850 Professor Tyrone Howard visited MCSSC in November 3rd, 2015
- \$500 Professor Amanda Lewis spoke as part of the Center for Research on Race and Ethnicity's speaker series
- \$1000 Professor Fred Erickson gave a methods workshop

David and Beatrice Miller Lecture Series

Dr. Carol D. Lee, Northwestern University was the invited speaker for the 2015-2016 through the Miller lecture series. Dr. Lee, a noted learning sciences and African American education scholar visited campus on April 21-23, 2016. Her visit included a keynote lecture and graduate student workshop on the Bloomington campus, as well as activities with student and faculty on the IUPUI campus. Specifically, she met with students in the Urban Education PhD program.

During the fall semester, the committee put forth a call for nominations for the Miller lecture series. We received 9 nominations. The committee noticed that School of Education faculty are interested in brining a critical race scholar for the Miller lecture series. Since it is difficult to schedule high profile scholars, the committee will likely begin pursuing Professor Luis Moll for the 2016-2017 speaker series. Professor Moll was the next scholar of interest following Dr. Carol Lee in the nomination process.

Grade Inflation Project

The committee continued its discussion of the grade inflation issue throughout the academic year. Adam Maltese once again summarized preliminary analyses of course evaluation data. They analyzed about 11,000 undergraduate student responses over the course of three semesters. There appears to be a clear correlation between expected grades and grades students actually receive (about .7). Correlation between expected grade and rating of course (i.e., "This course is outstanding") is weak. With little variability in grade distribution and rating of a course, it has been difficult to make strong conclusions about whether expected grade and grade distribution are correlated. The committee agrees that the pervasive perception among faculty is that there is a strong correlation between these two items.

The committee decided to move forth with implementing an undergraduate student grading policy modeled after the graduate student policy implemented two years. That policy was presented to Policy Council on April 27, 2016.

Teaching Awards

The Faculty Development Committee coordinated the nomination and selection of the teaching awards for achievement in 2015-2106. At its October meeting, the Committee reviewed the call for nominations, rating sheets, and website descriptions of the criteria and submission procedures for the various annual teaching awards. The committee changed the materials required for submission for the Gorman teaching award. Changes reflected last year's recommendation to standardize the dossiers submitted by candidates. Specifically, we limited the letters of support to 3 and we implemented page maximums to the self-analysis of teaching and to summary of teaching evaluations. The Faculty Development Committee selected the following award recipients:

Burton Gorman Teaching Award: Barbara Dennis (CEP) and Lori Patton Davis (HESA)

Trustees' Teaching Awards: Amy Hackenberg (C & I) Jessica Lester (CEP) Janet Dekcer (ELPS) Rob Kunzman (C & I) Phil Carspecken (CEP) Sharon Daley (LCLE)

Nomination materials for the Burton Gorman Teaching Award were also received from Beth Samuelson. Nomination materials for the Trustees' Teaching Awards were also received from Meredith Park Rogers, Mary Waldron, Catherin Gray, and Wendy Marencik.

The members of the Faculty Development Committee were impressed with the creativity and commitment documented in the teaching materials and evaluations that were submitted. The awards will be presented at the Celebration of Teaching, to be held on April 29, 2016.

<u>Future tasks</u>

The committee has been tasked with creating a formal faculty mentoring policy by November 1, 2016. The committee will begin work on this during the fall 2016 semester.

The committee would like to thank Gary Crow, Interim Executive Associate Dean, for her help, leadership and ongoing support.

Respectfully submitted by Sylvia Martinez, Chair